seven things series- seven underated movies

18 Jul

 

 

This is the seventeenth in the seven things series. I love movies- specifically comedies. Life is full of enough sad events that when I want to escape for a little while in a story, I like it to have a laugh. I’m also the type of person who vows, every year, to watch the movies that are nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. If I have ever seen a movie that has won Best Picture, it has probably been by accident. Now that we have a kid, the husband and I go to the movies even less frequently than we did before. Avoiding text messaging teenagers (wow I sound ancient!), not being in your pajamas or being able to stop the movie because you need to pee- these are the wonders of DVDs, or BlueRays, or whatever it is we have.

 

Sometimes, you have to watch a movie and let it sit with you, or watch it a second time to truly appreciate it. Like cinematic leftovers- sometimes things are better on the second day. Here are seven movies I think deserve another go from those who might have written them off (except for Weekend at Bernies. Awesome, yet awful. Stars a member of the brat pack is basically the most positive thing I can say about it).

 

  1. Just Friends. Ryan Reynolds, pre-legit stardom. The husband introduced me to this one and it is laugh out loud funny.
  2.  Spaceballs. Growing up as a huge Star Wars geek, this one cracks me up every time. Things I thought were funny as a kid are still funny, and now that I am an adult (allegedly), I get the rest of it even more.
  3. This is 40. Not as silly funny as Knocked Up, but once you have a kid and are north of 30, this one definitely hits home at a few points.
  4. The Saint. Val Kilmer at his least puffy. My brother and I watched this over and over as kids when we were home “sick” from school.
  5. Anchorman. I know, I know, a lot of people don’t like Will Ferrell. But I do, and “I’m in a glass case of emotion!” and Ron Burgundy’s realationship with his dog Baxter, will forever be my favorites.
  6.  Emma. Also, a lot of people hate Gwenyth Paltrow, especially once she got into the lifestyle advice business with that GOOP thing of hers. I’m kind of neutral, but I absolutely love her in this Austen depiction. Besides, Clueless was based on this story! If that’s not a ringing endorsement that sends you straight to NetFlix, I don’t know what is..
  7. Weekend at Bernies. A childhood staple. Nothing about this movie is good. The corpse of a dead drug dealer is played for laughs. It was the early 90’s.

 

By now, you have probably concluded that I have iffy taste in movies. You would be correct.

 

Leave a comment